Biggest News of My Life

February 20, 2009 at 4:31 pm (Brother, Family, Life, Long-lost sibling, Love, Never met)

So. To use a professor’s favorite line, I am going to *attempt* to write about this very calmly and unemotionally. But no promises.

I have known from the time that I have been about 12 or so that I have an older half-brother, a brother that I have never met. See, my biological mother had a son before her and my father had me and my brother. As it turns out, she hasn’t really been in the picture for most of my life, but I am okay with that. My mom, Teri, is the greatest mom I could ask for, so I don’t feel motherless or anything like that.

Anyway. Lately, my biological mother (who will be referred to as Merrilee from here on out, seeing as that is her name) has been in contact with my brother and myself. My brother (Shain) has talked to her and spent time with, whereas I have been a little less than forgiving and have not really wanted anything to do with her. Which, you know, is my prerogative. Whatever.

But I guess she has been attempting to get in contact with Josh, our older half-brother, too. And apparently she finally has. She told my dad this, who then asked Shain if he wanted to meet and talk Josh.

I just found out about them finding him today, and I also found out that tonight, TONIGHT, Shain and Josh will be meeting for the first time ever. I am so so so jealous. For a couple years now, I have vowed that when I start to make money, I would put some time into finding my brother that I’ve never met.  And Shain gets to meet him first. But I am okay with that. I am more over-joyed that soon I, too, will be in touch with this “long-lost” brother of mine.

So that’s the news of my life right now. So, because I can’t go home this weekend my parents are suposed to leave my phone number for Josh, that way he can contact me. I want it to be soon, but I realize that it may be awhile before he deicdes to call or meet me. After all, meeting one sibling you never knew you had is hard enough, let alone two.

Here are the details that I know about him (really, it’s not much):

1. HE lives in Indiana.

2. He is apparently an engineer of some sort.

3. I’ve seen pictures of him when he was younger, around 4 or 5, and Shain and him looked so much alike when they were that age.

4. He is either 22 or 23. So he is approximately 2-3 years older than myself, and 4-5 years older than Shain. At least, this is what I was told (I will be writing specifics as soon as I know them.)

5. Name: Josh. Yup. His full name is written down somewhere in an old picture album we have, but it escapes me at this moment.

Really, that’s all I know. But I am DYING to know more and meet him and have an older brother. *sigh* So exciting.

Leave a Reply

